The Katering Show. A brilliant satire by some seriously clever young ladies.

In particular, I loved watching this episode about the Thermomix. You may recall that I have the Aldi version of the Thermomix (aka $350 versus TMX $2000). It wizzes and whirls and does a job. Maybe not the job, but the question is do we want that job done for us? Those of us who cook intuitively, who taste and feel the food as we make magic with our ingredients – well, the TMX makes some experiences redundant.

Natasha Robinson seems to feel the same way about the Thermomix machine and in her article for The Australian, she suggests that TMX followers are a part of a cult. And it kinda feels that way, sometimes. There are secret tips and nods and techniques, observed by those with their TMX.

I swing from yes, if you gifted me a TMX I would take it and use it. It is speedy for many things I find boring. Like stirring jam and relish as it bubbles for hours, threatening me with three degree burns. And sorbet, custard, bechamel…it is good. Really, I can do all of these things on my own. Just as my mother has done and her mother before her. But the question that needs to be answered is whether I want my lifestyle to change, my family food culture and homemaking to be influenced by a machine.

Will each kidlet leave home expecting a TMX as the ultimate housewarming present? What if they don’t know how to make custard from scratch? Will I have failed them?

If I want to be seriously clever I think I need to be pragmatic about the TMX, show my family how it helps and hinders. And teach them to cook risotto from scratch, with a dash of muscle power and love. NB: Love not found as a program on the TMX.

