Tuesday is a Chocolate Cake Day

Tuesday has called for chocolate cake. The kind that is quick to make and portion for school lunches. It is a fail safe cake and a recipe passed on to me from my mother. Rich, dark but with basic ingredients you will find in your panty cupboard. There is no real chocolate, cream or special items. I used a Sunbean Mixmaster to  make the cake, but I am sure your KitchenAid, Thermomix or Thermo Cook would combine all of these ingredients too. On days when I have more time, I do enjoy combining a cake batter by hand. Do you?

My Mother’s Chocolate Devil Cake:

Ingredients:

1 3/4 cups SR Flour
1 1/3 cups sugar
1/2 cup cocoa
1/2 teaspoon Bi Carb Soda
125 gms melted butter
3/4 cups water
2 eggs
vanilla

Method: Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees celsius. Grease and line a round 20cm tin ( I vary the tin I use, just don’t choose a large one.) Place all dry ingredients in a mixing bowl and combine (by hand or use a mixer). Add half the water, the vanilla and the melted butter and mix for 2 minutes. Add remaining water and eggs and mix until well combined.

Cook in a moderate oven for 30-35 mins.

Dust with icing sugar, or as in the picture above drizzle with a chocolate light icing and sprinkle of 100s and 1000s. Perfect mid week fun.

Leave a Reply

