Krazy Kale

Kale pesto and goat cheese pizza

Had anyone heard about Kale until the last year or so? I love leafy greens but this one had somehow escaped my attention until it became a trend food. Now all the major supermarkets stock it. It was only 4 months ago when I asked a leading retailer for some and I was told there was no demand. Well hello! Not anymore – kale chips, braised kale, kale salad, kale in green smoothies and pesto all promise life changing wholesome goodness. Not all the 7mouths in our home are keen on the curly green thing. I am trying to grow it at the moment and between keeping the water up to each little plant in the soaring heat, I think the snails are winning.
But if I can grow it successfully this year I am determined to find more ways to slip it into our diet, in a kid friendly kinda way. You know what I mean?

2 thoughts on “Krazy Kale”

  1. I love it susan, Paul is not such a fan but I can't get enough regardless of purported health benefits I think it actually tastes really good.

  2. I grew up eating Kale(couve in Portuguese).It is a very popular green vegetable in Brazil, a 'must' side dish served with 'feijoada', our famous black beans stew. To be honest, as a child I never reall liked it.Too bitter, maybe, too green, but as an adult I just love it. I always wanted to cook a feijoada for my family and friends here ,but I thought I wouldn't be able to add 'couve' in the menu.Then a friend said she had some in her farm…and all of a sudden, supermarkets started selling kale, too. I made my first feijoada!!! I didn't do a very good job cutting the kale as thin as people do in Brazil, but it still tasted good. Here is the recipe, great to be eaten with pork, smoked meats and rice. Unfortunately, not very kid friendly…
    1 bunch of kale(about 675-900gr)
    2 tbs olive oil
    1/2 onion finely chopped
    sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
    1 Trim the stems and the thick centre ribs.Choose the some of the thickest stems;peel them to remove the thick fibre and chop
    2 Stack the leaves and roll the tightly into a cigar shape.Cut them into very tin strips crossways and place in a bowl. Do it in bunches to make it easier till you use all the leaves.
    3 Pour the olive oil in a large saucepan.Cook the onion over medium heat until soft, add the greens and toss them, making sure all the leaves are coated.Season with salt and pepper.Add 225ml of water, cover the pan and reduce the heat to low.Simmer gently for 10 minutes, until leaves are soft.Drain any excess of liquid before serving.
    **if you like garlic, you can cook it with the onions, too.
    Hope you like it.Will find a Portuguese soup recipe that you will love, a very winter one, though.Enjoy!xx

Leave a Reply

