Joy and Rest in a Cup of Tea

Willow Girl Photography

How often do you stop and make a real pot of tea and take time to let it brew? To savour the process as much as the drinking of tea. I love this reflection on joy and rest by my friend Belinda, a Mama on the Hill. 

For me, the act of making a pot of tea forces me to slow down. When the children are awake, it gives us the opportunity to sit down together and have a ‘tea party’. To connect, share stories, to just be with one another. When the children are asleep, it gives me the opportunity to sit and rest, to give my mind space to think, to dream, to pray. Somehow we feel like as mums we need permission to rest…well a pot of tea gives me permission to rest.

Leave a Reply

