Edit Busyness to Rest

The Siesta – Vincent Van Gogh

Epiphany. Rest. I need more rest.
Not just sleep, the long, uninterrupted time at night.
But I need to make time during the day to rest, recharge, review and be restored. It may be a power nap but time in a chair with a cup of tea and something to read quietly for 20 minutes may be just as effective. Last week I had a day when kept myself busy, doing chores and a range of odd jobs. It felt so good to tick off some of those tasks on my to do list ( the one in my head). But by the end of the day as dinner and bath time arrived I was exhausted. A grumpy, impatient Mummy Me stomped up and down stairs, spoke harshly and sighed lots. I was bad company for my man and my kids. I went to me room. To rest. To repent. To seek guidance and take the time so that I could see that without regular rest, I was destined to be anything but the woman He wants me to be.
So this week I am working of editing the busyness during the day. I need to build in times of quiet, even if it is only 5 minutes. And this is not rest at the computer or in the shower. But a time to sit down, slow down and recharge. Rest will enable me to be more productive, more patient and gracious in the long term. A better me.
Epiphany. Rest.

One thought on “Edit Busyness to Rest”

  1. Amen ! It's a real challenge to implement. I've found as the kids get older and more physically independent, the busyness lifestyle I developed is even less relevant and useful. I'm relearning to pace myself and to take time to ressource instead of filling the spaces left by the more autonomous kids. It's also a process where I let more of the essential me be apparent after a number of years being the Mum-me. Since the Lord is accompanying you, I'm absolutely confident that He will lead you towards the better you (although I think you are pretty amazing already!)

Leave a Reply

