Known

Are you known? We all have an innate desire to be known, truly understood. Whether it is by our spouse, friend or parent, we cannot shake this need to be known. And yet very few of us can say with confidence that we are. We withhold desires, dreams, disappointments from each other. We speak half truths and mask our hopes in second bests.
Somedays this longing to be known, to be ‘naked’ and still loved can be overwhelming. Yet there can be joy in being fragile, reward in vulnerability. There is someone who knows us. We are known.

Psalm 139 
Lord, you have searched me and known me!
You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
you discern my thoughts from afar.
You search out my path and my lying down
and are acquainted with all my ways.
Even before a word is on my tongue,
behold, O Lord, you know it altogether.
You hem me in, behind and before,
and lay your hand upon me.
vSuch knowledge is too wonderful for me;
it is high; I cannot attain it.
Leave a Reply

