Just thinking…..

How do you cope with anxiety? It plagues the lives of so many of us, women in particular. Many women are isolated with small children at home and lose confidence to interact with the adult world, others have just been caught in patterns of behaviour and thinking that lead to more worry about the past, the present and the future. Nothing protects you from it – not money or status. For some women there are issues of fear and anxiety over health, wealth, fidelity, success, fertility, ambition, career and calling.  Many women, myself included are tempted to believe in things that are not true – lies that we take from society, a family member, a friend. 


I found this list interesting. 10 Lies women often believe:

I will never let someone hurt me again
I can depend on this guy to meet all my needs
I think everyone is talking about me
I’m not as beautiful as she is
I can’t do that even if I try
I must do ________, so I’ll be loved
I won’t let it hurt my feelings
I’m not good enough for him
I’ll never recover from that mistake
I know this guy would never disappoint me
Does anything on the list resonate? Have you spoken out about your anxiety before? Do you have a friend and confidant that you can share with? How would you help a friend who is paralysed by fear and anxiety?
4 thoughts on “Just thinking…..”

  1. I suffered from severe anxiety after the birth of my second child. After 4 trips to emergency with severe gastro symptoms, and numerous tests i received the diagnosis of anxiety and have needed medication for the last 6 years. I think i believed the lie that as a mother I had to do everything and not need help or a break. I struggle constantly not to have unrealistic expectations of myself.
    What helps? Not overloading myself, plenty of sleep, quilting, knitting, house in order and clean, healthy food, spending time with close friends and family…
    However still searching for a 'magic cure'. Although, I think I am coming to the conclusion there isn't one and that I need to accept myself as God made me (in his image).
    I am reading a book at the moment that is quite helpful- The Anxiety Cure by Dr Archibald Hart. An added bonus he is a Christian.

    Amellia

  2. This is a very helpful discussion. Just a few more thoughts…I thank God regularly for good medication, and for friends and family to talk to. Not having to put on a good front for people is such a relief and help when you have anxiety.

    Amellia

  3. Thanks for your thoughts Amellia. The 'front' you speak of is a common scenario and an idea I wanted to capture in the image of the woman in this post. On good days, ordinary days we need trusted friends who we are real with, but on dark days and ones when anxiety takes over we need friends and family to accept us as we are. Great to hear that you are reminding yourself of good things about God and His provision for you. I am encouraged by the fact that God is Sovereign over everything – even anxiety.

  4. I don't know if I can call this anxiety, but what happens to me sometimes, especially in moments in which I am feeling extremely happy, is I fear that this happiness will vanish, that something bad will happen and take it away from me.It is as if I were not entitled to be happy for a long period, as if tragedy always followed joy, as if the storm always came after the bonanza and not the other way around.I read something the other night that reminded me I am not alone.
    It said we should find a place of stillness within ourselves.
    Being still and connected helps me deal with my fears, I somehow know I am not alone.

Leave a Reply

