All I want for Christmas….

Really I don’t need anything for Christmas. My focus should be on others. I should be buying a goat from TEAR and helping a village to have access to clean water. I should be more thoughtful about my Christmas shopping. But a big feature of life right now is that I am not as organised as I would like to be and this is a difficult thing to admit.

Poor organisation inevitably leads to spending above the budget, wasting time and energy searching for missing objects, presents (yes, where did I hide that?) and important invoices and documents. It means I am always running and not making time for refreshment – quiet reflection, prayer and meditation. I don’t have the headspace to really see what needs to be done and what the best way to do it might be.

So I have decided I want “organisation” this Christmas. It is not so much a gift to me but a commitment from me to do the ‘first things first’, identify what is important, schedule in time for the valuable stuff….yes it may mean buying or making some gorgeous new planner/stationary. ( The Project Girl) was a favourite last year!) However, this gift stands to benefit us all. My kids will be better cared for, my home cleaner and tidier perhaps, the food on my table more thoughtful, the time with me Man more meaningful, the connection with friends more regular, my spending more manageable and my giving more generous.

We don’t need stuff. Here in the Western world we rarely lack for the material things. But we need time, love and encouragement. We need Faith in the one who created us.We have been blessed with some amazing people. Cherish them. Love them. Pray for them.

How do you organise your life?

Leave a Reply

