Interview with Jasmine Mansbridge Part 1

I have been fortunate to have formed a creative partnership with this gorgeous friend of mine, Jasmine Mansbridge. With only three more sleeps until the opening of her new exhibition  at Hope & Co I thought it would be good to share this interview we did.
I am always keen to understand the ideas and inspiration that drive creative people. But as a woman who juggles a busy family life, friends and faith there are other questions too that provide an interesting picture of the artist herself. Enjoy reading part 1.

When did you know you wanted to be an artist?

My childhood visualizations of myself always included me being some kind of artist. My grandmother was a successful portrait artist so I guess she had some kind of influence here. However, I wanted to be an architect for a long time and was forever designing little spaces and houses. I have always been working at some creative project, even as a kid. The way my life has unfolded though, starting my family when I was young, has been conducive to me being a visual artist as it is a very self contained activity. I decided I would paint when I was around 17 years of age.

What things inspire you?

I am inspired by my thought processes, I get “stuck” on a topic and painting is a way of exploring it further, of trying to make sense of life. I am inspired by architecture, particularly houses and the idea of home and how it quantifies life. I get stuck on words and phrases and the way we interpret language and how language defines out experience of life. I am probably a bit vacant sometimes with so many things, images, ideas banging round in my head.

Who has  influenced the direction of your artwork?

When I was in grade one I was a runner up in a Chinese worldwide children’s art prize for a painting I did of a Giraffe. I can still remember it clearly, as I loved the mosaic patterning I used to give the giraffe its form. So strong lines, colour, patterning and clean design have always appealed to me. Compared to my grandmother, I felt inferior trying to paint realistic subject matter and so very early on I used my own interpretation of ideas in my paintings. From age fourteen I lived in Katherine in the Northern Territory. When I was in my late teens I ended up working with an art gallery there and was quite involved with several Indigenous artists. I even did a few collaborative pieces. The relaxed way that the Aboriginal Artists paint and their approach to art making, as being not separate, but part of  a lifestyle certainly influenced me. My earlier styles were definitely expressing much of what was around me at that time. Moving around the country has certainly continued to influence my work as I have been exposed to different surroundings and ways of life.

Leave a Reply

