My eldest girl has been busy completing a school project. One of those “choose your own topic” projects that gets the teacher in me quiet upset. There will be those students who will instinctively be able to make a good choice about the topic and the parameters of the research. For many others it will be a simple, unchallenging task. Think – “My pet dog” or “The Smurf Movie”. Really not good enough….
So after several failed attempts at committing to a topic I opened the door on a whole new world for her. Fashion. Fashion houses, designers, runway shows, the catwalk and fabric and design. I only had to gently suggest and she has done the rest, with relish. My girl is an artist and craftsperson. She is always creating and making.
She has had a great time learning about fashion and that is the challenge – it is something new. We have viewed recent Fashion weeks from New York and Paris together. We have talked about the models, the clothes and the show as theatre. After much fun browsing she decided to focus on Kate Middleton’s wedding dress and the designer Sarah Burton for Alexander Mc Queen.

I loved Kate’s dress and her sister Pippa’s too – so very elegant. But take a peek at these spectacles from the recent Paris Fashion Week. Amazing. What will you be wearing this season?

