This cake reminds me of my childhood. Mum used to make it regularly and we had pieces packed in our school lunches. It is called a Black Devil Chocolate Cake and it is dark and moist. So I have never really enjoyed other people’s chocolate cakes if they are light and lacking in depth because this one is my childhood benchmark. And it is so easy. It has recently become a friend again…. just like My Friend the Chocolate Cake.

Black Devil Chocolate Cake 
1 1/2 cups SR Flour
1 1/3 cups sugar
1/2 teaspoon soda
1/2 cup cocoa
125g butter
vanilla
3/4 cup water
2 eggs
Combine all dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add softened butter, vanilla and half of the water. Beat for 2 minutes. Add remaining water and eggs and beat well. Bake at 190 (moderately hot) for 40-45 minutes. Allow to cool completely before icing with a thick chocolate butter icing.
Enjoy!
