Basic Bar Recipe for Busy Family….

The great thing about a big family is that we do learn to care for each other, well. Somedays it is in a hurried haphazard way, but mostly we know we are all on the same team and need to help.

The children all love cooking and although there are days when I inwardly dread the “Can I cook something?” request from one of the kids they are now safe and well skilled to do most things.

My eldest girl made Donna Hay’s “Make 1 Make 3” Muesli Bars (Kid’s Issue Annual 6, 2009). The basic recipe really works. In the past I have made the healthy muesli bar that crumbled when I simply looked at it. I assure this won’t happen. It does have to have some fat and some sugar in it to glue it together. I think we chose olive oil instead of vegetable oil with great success. Hay has a number of different options to change the flavour of your bar – fruit, seeds, choc chip, cornflakes instead of oats and so on. Let me know if you want to make these treasures this week.

The only problem is that there may not be enough left for Friday when school starts!

PS Thanks for asking. Here is the recipe…..with my edits.

Muesli Bars

3 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup flour
2 tbs brown sugar
1 cup sultanas
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cu[ golden syrup
1/2 cup vegetable oil

Preheat oven to 160 c. Place all dry ingredients in bowl. Heat honey and syrup in small saucepan over medium heat until runny and then whisk in oil. Add this to dry ingredients and combine. Spoon into greased 20cm x 30cm tin lined with non stick baking paper and flatten with a spoon. Bake 35-40 mins or until golden. Cool and cut into pieces. *Can be made in 40 ml capacity muffin tins

4 thoughts on “Basic Bar Recipe for Busy Family….”

  1. Hi Suse, I'd love to get the recipe. Pops and I were just chatting last night about what snacks we should make for school.

    Also – I loved reading your last post. I'm not always so good at keeping in touch, but we pray for you all every week – and it was really nice to have more idea of what to pray for you guys this week. 🙂

    Pops and I are really looking forward to the women's weekend, too. 🙂

    love
    cat

  2. I'm actually making some Donna Hay muesli bars as I type… from those handy books you lent me. The one I've tried has choc chips but I obviously didn;t allow the mixture to cool enough because the chocky melted as I stirred it… doesn;t look pretty. Hope Noah enjoys them at kindy tomorrow… my first ever lunch box to prepare!

  3. Yeah you have to be careful with the chocolate. I know it will taste good! Hope Noah has a great start to kinder.

    And Cat…it will wonderful to see you in March. We should chat soon.

  4. Susie,
    do you know what I can replace golden syrup with in the recipe? We can't buy it here in France.

    I have another recipe which is very good as long as I don't overcook it!

    1 X 397g sweetened condensed milk
    250 g rolled oats
    75g shredded coconut
    100g dried raisins or sultanas or cranberries
    125g mixed seeds (pumpkin, sunflower, sesame ..)
    125g unsalted nuts (peanut, mixed, pecans ..)

    Preheat oven 130°c. Butter baking dish. Warm milk over low heat in saucepan. Mix all ingredients and then add milk. Fold. Distribute evenly and spread into pan and press down. Bake approx 1 hour.

Leave a Reply

