I made this a few weeks ago with great success I think. 
The inspiration was left over porridge. Andrew is the porridge maker in our house. He tends to rise early and gets breakfast going and on this particular day we had quite a large amount left. Now the entire family love lasagne but I really find making béchamel a bit of a bore – I love eating it, however.


The key to this dish was a moderate amount of left over porridge (the rolled oats and milk variety – not the microwave  packet version) and a memory of Jane Kennedy’s book 

Fabulous Food Minus the Boombah

Jane offers healthy food ideas minus the “boombah” – insert any carb, fat or tasty stuff.  I am not so sold on eating curry without the rice and so on , so it didn’t occur to me that her ideas would get any leverage at our house. Until I remembered she had steamed and then forked a head of cauliflower until it resembled cous cous and acted like the aforementioned grain on the plate. Apparently it soaks up the curry like rice.

So my very special lasagne is built around steamed cauliflower pureed with left over porridge and would you believe you have a creamy, delicious white sauce. Less fat and less mess. Less Boombah!


Roasted Vegetable Lasagne..with a twist

To assemble the lasagne I simply roasted a range of vegetable from the fridge – red capsicum, sweet potato, onions, mushrooms, garlic, zucchini and eggplant. These roasted delights were assembled with fresh baby spinach, fresh herbs from the garden, a simple tomato passata with additional garlic, salt and sweet chilli, the creamy sauce and of course, lasagne sheets. The top layer was some of my Boombah béchamel and a sprinkling of grated cheddar/parmesan.

So maybe I have put some of the boombah back into the pasta dish, but really I think this is a great use of oats…….the kids told me they could “smell” the cauliflower but really didn’t mind because it tasted great. 
